This is the "Citation Guide" page of the "Citation Guide WBHS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Guide WBHS  

Last Updated: Feb 21, 2017 URL: http://dupage88.libguides.com/QuickCiteWBHS Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Citation Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How do I do a Hanging Indent on a Google Doc?

Method 1:  This is a quick way to format one line at a time.

  • Place cursor in front of second line of citation. 
  • Hit "backspace." Hit "Enter." Hit "Tab." 
  • Repeat for each line that you would like indented.

Method 2:  This is a way to format a whole citation page.  (Click on the link for the tutorial video below.)

  • Go up to menu at the top.  Click "View." Click "Show ruler."
  • Highlight the citation(s.)
  • Go up to the ruler.  Move the blue arrow cursor to the right to the 1/2" mark.  The entire citation will shift to the right.
  • Now go up to the ruler and move the blue rectangle cursor back to the original point.  The top line will move to the left.
  • Note: this format will remain in effect for the entire page.  To remove this format, move the blue arrow cursor back to the original point, so that both cursors are at zero.

 

It's Easy!

Click "easy" for the
Purdue Owl: MLA Formatting and Style Guide

External Citations (Works Cited) 

This is the list of the sources that you have referred to or used in your research project. Sometimes called a "Bibliography" or "References" list.

Internal (In-Text) Citations

Referring to the works of others in your text is done by using what is known as an in-text or parenthetical citation. An in-text citation iinvolves placing source information in parentheses after a quote or a paraphrase.

Any source information that you provide in-text must correspond to the source information on the Works Cited page.

The first word or phrase in the in-text citation must be the same as in the corresponding entry in the Works Cited List.

In other words...this is EASY! 

Easy Button image from Staples.com

NoodleTools

 

OWL - The Purdue Online Writing Lab

This site has everything you'd ever want to know about writing a paper, including plenty of examples of citations for all types of media!


Click on this icon to see more examples of citations from Purdue OWL!

 

MLA Handbook

 
Use the MLA (Modern Language Association's) citation style.

 

Acknowledgements

Created by Patti Reher
Addison Trail High School
11/12/13

Revised by Rose Janusz
Willowbrook High School
2/21/2017
 
Information obtained from
The Purdue OWL.
Purdue U Writing Lab, 2017.
 

SAMPLE WORKS CITED PAGE

Your final "WORKS CITED" page should
look like this example.

 

MLA: Book (Print)

Basic Format:
   

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book.

Publisher, Year of Publication.  

Example:
 

Burke, Kenneth. Language as Symbolic Action: Essays on

Life, Literature and Method. University of

California Press, 1966.

In-Text Citations: (References)

For Print sources, provide a signal word or phrase (usually the author’s last name) and a page number. If you provide the signal word/phrase in the sentence, you do not need to include it in the parenthetical citation.

The examples (below) correspond to entry (above) that begins with Burke, which will be the first thing that appears on the left-hand margin of an entry in the Works Cited page.

Examples:

Human beings have been described by Kenneth Burke as "symbol-using animals" (3). 
 
Human beings have been described as "symbol-using animals" (Burke 3).
 
 
 
 

MLA: Reference Book (Print)

Basic Format:  

"Title of Article." Title of Book.

Publisher,Year of Publication.

Example: 

"The Great White Plague -  Tuberculosis Before the Age of

Antibiotics." American Decades, Gale

Research, Inc, 1995.

In-Text Citations: 
 
When a source has no known author, use a shortened title of the work instead of an author name. Place the title in quotation marks if it's a short work (such as an article) or italicize it if it's a longer work (e.g. plays, books, television shows, entire Web sites) and provide a page number. 
 

Example:   

With one death out of every twenty-one contributed to tuberculosis in 1936, it took more lives than any contagious disease ("The Great White Plague" 396).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

                                                                                                                                              
 

MLA: Selection from an Anthology (Print)

Basic Format:

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Essay." Title of Collection.

Ed. Editor's Name(s),  Publisher,

Year, Page range of entry.

Example:

Dickenson, Emily. "Experiment of Green." Poems of Emily

Dickenson. Edited Helen Plotz,  Thomas Y.

Crowell,1964, pp. 23-64.

In-Text Citations: (References)

For quotations that are more than four lines of prose or verse, place quotations in a free-standing block of text and omit quotation marks. Start the quotation on a new line, with the entire quote indented one inch from the left margin; maintain double-spacing.

Example:

In her poem "Experiment of Green," Emily Dickenson explores the wonder of spring:  

A light exists in spring

Not present on the year

At any other period

When March is scarcely here (25).


                                                      

 

MLA: Periodicals (Print)

Basic Format:

Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Periodical Title

Day Month Year: Page#.

Example: 

Nunez De Arco, Sergio. "The Rags-to-Riches Grain:

How the Poor Man's Food from the Andes Made it in

the U.S." Time, vol. Nov, no. 58, Nov. 2013, p. 58.

In-Text Citations: 

To indicate short quotations in your text, enclose the quotation within double quotation marks with in-text citation immediately following.

Example: 

Quinoa's popularity has increased exponentially which is somewhat surprising for a product that "less than a decade ago few had heard of and fewer still could pronounce" (Nunez 58).

 

 

 

MLA: Images, Photos, Art (Print)

Basic Format:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Photo or Work. Year work

was completed.

Example:

Lange, Dorothea. Migrant Mother. 1936, Library of Congress.

In-Text Citation Examples: (References)

This depression era photograph embodies the dispair and hopelessness of the migrant family (Lange ).

Dorothea Lange's depression era photograph embodies the dispair and hopelessness of the migrant family.

 

MLA: Entire Website (Electronic)

Basic Format:
 

Lastname, Firstname of Editor (if available). Name

of Site. Name of Institution/organization affiliated with

the site, date of resource creation, url (if required by

teacher). Day Month Year of access.

Example:  

Mabillard, Amanda. The True Chronicle History of King Lear.

          Shakespeare Online. 20 Aug. 2000, shakespeare-

          online.com/plays/kinglear/kingleir.html.

          Accessed 15 Dec. 2016.

 
 

MLA: Article from Website (Electronic)

Basic Format:
 

Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Editor, Author or

           Compiler Name. Name of Site. Name of

           institution or organization affiliated with site,

          date of resoure creation, url (if required by

          teacher). Day Month Year of Access.

Example: 
 

Wills, Gary. "The Words that Remade America: The

Significance of The Gettysburg Address." The

Atlantic. 23 Nov. 2011, https://www.theatlantic.com/

magazine/archive/2012/02/the-words-that-remade-

america/308801/. Accessed 20 Dec. 2015.

In-Text Citation Example:

"Abraham Lincoln transformed the ugly reality into something rich and strange—and he did it with 272 words. The power of words has rarely been given a more compelling demonstration" (Wills).

 
 

MLA: Article from Database (Electronic)

Basic Format:

Lastname, Firstname, "Title of Article." Name of

Magazine or Journal, date of publication,

range of page numbers. Database, url

(if required by teacher). Day Month Year

of Access.

 

Example:

Soeiro, Liz Phipps. "Loud in the Library: Creating Social

          Activists at School." The Horn Book Magazine,

         May-June 2016, p. 42+. Student Resources in

          Context
. Accessed 15 Feb. 2017.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
 

MLA: Images, Photos, Art from Database (Electronic)

Basic Format:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Photo or Work. Year work

          was completed. Name of Database, url (if required by

          teacher). Day Month Year of Access.

Example: 
 

Hesler, Alexander. Abraham Lincoln. 1857. Britannica

          Image Quest,
quest.eb.com/search/140_1700562/

          1/140_1700562/cite. Accessed 10 Dec. 2016.

 
In-Text Citation Example:
 
Abraham Lincoln posed for this photograph while visiting Chicago on February 28, 1857. Lincoln is said to have combed his hair with his fingers just before posing, which accounts for his wild look in this portrait (Hessler).

                                                                                                            

 

MLA: Speeches (Electronic)

Basic Format:

Speaker Last Name, First Name. "Title of Speech."

Date Month Year of Speech. Title of Website,

Publication Date. Date of Access. Type of

Presentation (Speech, Address, Letter).

 

Example: 

King, Martin Luther, Jr. "I Have a Dream." 28 Aug. 1963.

         The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent

         Social Change
, 2012. Accessed 15 Dec. 2016.

         Speech.

 
In-Text Citation Example:
 
Martin Luther King, Jr. delivers his famous "I Have a Dream" speech at the Lincoln Memorial during the March on Washington, 1963. (King). 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip