This is the "Health Resources" page of the "Health Resources WBHS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Resources WBHS  

Last Updated: Mar 25, 2015 URL: http://dupage88.libguides.com/HealthResourcesWBHS Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Health Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases: Britannica

Britannica Image Quest

Access to approximately three million rights-cleared images from the best collections in the world.


Britannica School

Includes encyclopedia and magazine articles, exercises and activities. The encyclopedia is divided into separate sections for elementary, middle school and high school level abilities.

      
     

    Databases: Gale

     

    Science in Context

    Features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects.


    Teen Health & Wellness

    Award-winning, critically acclaimed online resource. Provides middle and high school students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, standards-aligned, curricular and self-help support.


    Gale Virtual Reference Library

    A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries.


     

    Acknowledgements

    Created by Patti Reher
    Addison Trail High School
    Addison, IL  9/27/13
     

    Health Resources

     

    Websites: Health and Medicine

    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

    Government web site that has detailed information on diseases and their prevention.


    Mayo Clinic

    Provides information on health and medicine, a separate searchable database on "Diseases and Conditions A-Z", and other medical resources.

     

    Websites: Health and Medicine

    Medline Plus

    Health web site from the U. S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.


    National Institutes of Health 

    Main web site from the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services.

     

    Websites: Health and Medicine

    NORD 

    The National Organization of Rare Diseases, a clearinghouse for the government, provides a searchable database of sites providing information on thousands of rare diseases and disorders, including genetic diseases.


    PubMed 

    A searchable database of articles from Medline and other life science journals provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

     

    Websites: Health and Medicine


    PubMed Health

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - The World's Largest Medical Library

    United States National Library of Medicine 

    National Library of Medicine's access to professional medical databases at no charge, from the National Institutes of Health.

     

    TeensHealth

    TeensHealth

    Part of the KidsHealth family of websites. These sites, run by the nonprofit Nemours Center for Children's Health Media, provide accurate, up-to-date health information that's free of "doctor speak."

     

    Search Engines

    Internet Public Library

    Hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science and Technology, this site contains a vast collection of online texts, including novels, newspapers, magazines, and tutorials for students of all ages.


    netTrekker

    The leading educational search tool with more than 330,000 standards-aligned, teacher-approved digital resources from the web and unique learning tools.

     

    Discovery Streaming

    Discovery Streaming

    Discovery Education supports teachers in accelerating student achievement, bringing the wonder of Discovery into classrooms to ignite students' natural curiosity.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip